Arco game report: Webber is unfazed by trade rumors

http://www.sacbee.com/content/sports/basketball/kings/story/12433751p-13290010c.html

By Joe Davidson -- Bee Staff Writer
Published 2:15 am PST Wednesday, February 23, 2005

Every year, it's Chris Webber.

Headed here or there via trade, it's not really an NBA season unless the Kings forward's name is dropped a dozen or so times, regardless of rumor merit.

"I've heard it so much over the years," Webber said Tuesday night. "I didn't hear that I was coming to Sacramento. (Now) I don't want to trade this for the world."

And why is his name always attached to something?

"Why is it?" he wondered. "Some old lady could fall on the street, and I did it. It gets very old.

"When this type of thing happened before (earlier in my career), I would become an introvert. It became a burden. As you get older, you learn to laugh at it. Not making the All-Star team (this season), hearing about chemistry problems, you laugh. I know I still believe in us."

Webber was plenty believable as a player against the Atlanta Hawks, recording 30 points, six rebounds and seven assists.

Stepping up

When Matt Barnes starts in place of Peja Stojakovic, out because a sore hamstring Tuesday, he isn't asked to become Peja - just a pest.

Against Atlanta, Barnes hustled for 10 points and 10 rebounds, his first double double of the season.

And should Stojakovic not be ready for the six-game road trip?

"I'll be ready," said Barnes, a former Del Campo High School star. "I know what I have to do to help this team."

Et cetera

Stojakovic said after Monday night's practice that he is "happy" in Sacramento and doesn't have any say or control in whether he is traded.

* Freshly minted Slam Dunk Champion Josh Smith of Atlanta had a career-high 19 points, bettering the rookie's previous high by three, also against the Kings.