Kevin martin traded to rockets

Status
Not open for further replies.
We didn't want Jeffries gross contract (rightly so, with Noce and Beno on board).
I should have been more clear..I was talking about the Rockets deal. We give up a good player in Kevin and we don't even get a pick.

It's a shame no one wanted either Noc or Beno.

Here's a list of what will come off the books, either now, by trade or at the end of the season.

K. Thomas: $8,801,198.00
Armstrong: $2,801,198.00
Sergio: $1,892,035.00
Hughes: $13,655,268.00
May: $825,497.00
Udoka: $902,693.00

That adds up to a grand total of $28,851,691.00. Thats not chump change. So we ended up trading Martin for Landry, who is a very good player and Dorsey who possibly has potential and a ton of cap space. Houston ended up gaining a first round pick in 2012. Big deal! If New York is sucessful in what they want to do, that pick could be down around 24 or 25. Plus they had to take Jefferies salary. I'd rather have the cap space this offseason than a pick in 2012 for some unknown player picking from an unkown spot.

This is a very good trade for the Kings. Not to mention that the roster is more balanced now. Yeah, I know Hughes is a SG, but his stay in Sac will be a short one.
We just have different expirings than before, The only increase in cap space is the difference in Kevin's 10 mil and the 3.8 mil for the two PF we get.

The problem is we didnt get to use any expirings to trade into any new talent, picks, or young players with potential

So we trade a 23 pt starter for 16 pt bench player - less talent overall

We dont get any new picks

We dont trade any mid level contracts (Beno, Noc, Garcia)

Rockets get two draft picks, and Jordan Hill we get talent bleed

So all we got is cap space, time to go shopping geoff

Did not improve talent level with trade, no new picks, no expirings traded for anything - sorry sounds like we got hosed by Houston and NY, and Tmacs agent

piksi

Hall of Famer