Advice on Schools and Life in the States

Hey fellow Kings fans, a very merry and blessed Christmas to all of you!

I'm applying for an exchange program to the USA, and was hoping some of you could give me some advice on what the life and respective areas are like. Here's the list of schools that I can apply to for exchange:

1) Stern School of Business - NYU
2) Marshall School of Business - University of South California
3) McCombs School of Business - University of Texas, Austin
4) University of Washington
5) Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

As you can probably tell, I'm studying business. Appreciate any input or recommendations you may have on these schools, both in terms of academic reputation as well as college life/ what there is to do in the area.

Thanks for the help!

VF21

Super Moderator Emeritus
SME
One piece of advice? Stay out of California if at all possible. The cost of living is almost beyond belief, with new taxes popping up daily.

pdxKingsFan

So Ordinary That It's Truly Quite Extraordinary
Staff member
Personal preference, between all those I'd go to NYU, which isn't going to be cheaper than USC. Then probably between UW and USC.

As far as "college life" then Austin or Chapel Hill are probably the way to go. They are smaller towns but the campuses are more ingrained into the city ID.

Honestly, you're looking at 5 completely different experiences, almost like choosing between different countries in many ways. You'd probably get the most mileage out of NY as an American experience, with easy travels to other major American cities such as Boston, DC/Baltimore, Philly. The Pacific NW where UW is, it's kind of a love it or hate it thing - some just can't get past the weather, but it's a fantastic region and you're a stones throw from Vancouver, BC which is one of the nicer cities in North America.