Skal looking to make leap in year 3

bajaden

Hall of Famer
I really dont... LMAO I remember thinking Harry Giles looks like one of the best 10th grade basketball players/bigs I've ever seen, and just a few years later there was no doubt in my mind that Marvin was superior at the same stage.
While I don't totally disagree with you, I think it's a hard call one way or the other. Personally, I think Giles had better handles and a better jumpshot. But as they say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

kingsboi

Hall of Famer
When I was a freshman in highschool I went out for the track team and I ran the 100 in 10.6 seconds. Fast, but not fast enough since we had a couple of guys that ran it in 9.8 and 9.9 respectively. I spent the following summer working on strengthening my legs as well as my upper body. I went from 155 pounds to 165 pounds. When I re-tested for the 100 I ran it in 10.0 flat. So although my legs were stronger, and bigger, I ran faster. It all depends on what kind of weight your adding. Muscle will easily support itself. Fat won't!
Strengthening your legs is important, no doubt. I'm saying that you don't want to add too much muscle mass to the legs because that weight will slow a player down if they are too heavy on top and bottom. It's also much easier for a male athlete to pack on fat in the upper body than his lower body.

bajaden

Hall of Famer
I think he has more talent than anyone on the team. There's a difference
I could name a lot of players that were loaded with talent, and never lived up to expectations. Look, I like Skal and I'm still pulling for him, but he's had some opportunities and fell short. I'll admit that he's had some injuries at very inopportune times. Call it bad luck if you will, but time keeps marching on and waits for no one. The Kings aren't running a day care center. Skal has to step up quickly, or he'll be a forgotten player at the end of the bench.