Farewell Kings

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm just completely heartbroken. I literally feel like a piece of me died last night. I just can't follow them for now. I remember being one of, if not first, in line to buy regular season tickets the year DMC got here. I was in grad school at the time and didn't have much money, but me and my little bro were so excited to buy opening day tickets. I had started watching college basketball the year before just because I was excited to see who the Kings might draft. My bro and I were really excited that DMC was coming and we just *knew* our fortunes as fans were turning up.

Since that time, I graduated and have continued to support the kings more and more each season. My wife knows that buying me Kings gear is a safe-bet for any holiday, birthday etc. I went halfsies on season tickets for a while until my daughter was born and it became too hard to go to so many games. This morning I couldn't even look at my favorite Kings hat that my wife bought me for my bday a few years ago.

All day long I've been depressed and checking in on other boards to see just how ridiculous we look as fans for having supported this organization. I thought Vlade could talk sense into Vivek but I see now that was wrong. I don't know if I am impressed by other fans who are sticking around or if we are all suffering from some sort of Stockholm syndrome. I'm slowly coming to grips with the fact that I'm going to be taking a major, if not permanent, hiatus from being a fan. I've imagine putting all my Kings gear in a box and throwing it away. Sorry for the long vent but I really feel like I will miss this community of fans the most. I've never met any of you in real life but in a crazy way I feel like I know all of you. I can say I am definitely in the grieving stage of loss. Good luck, Kingsfans.com!